Contemporary Music

Stumbled across a new Web site when looking for information about Elliott Carter's solo guitar piece, "Changes": Art of the States which, whatever else it may be, is an online anthology of 20th and 21st century American music.

Favorites so far include "Becoming Becoming" by Linda Dusman, "In the Name of the Holocaust" by John Cage, and, of course, "Changes".

It's an amazing site. How they got permissions for all of these things, I have no idea. We're not talking about excerpts—you hear the whole composition.


Blogger Jim Murdoch said...

What a find! Isn't that the frustrating thing about the Web, there's no much good stuff out there but how do you find it? By tripping over it in the dark usually. I'll enjoy working my way through this.

3/1/08 02:26  

Post a Comment

<< Home